Coast 2 Coast – Brighton Marina

photo (4)I had what can only be described as one of the worst days of my life yesterday, hospitals – blergh. So my boyfriend said he would take me out for dinner & cinema to cheer me up. Who is going to turn down a free meal aye?!
After much deliberation, we decided to try Coast 2 Coast in Brighton Marina. We’ve never been here, but I have always heard how good it was. I now realise why, as we walked in the 4 big screens showing football made me understand how it was a bit hit with most of the males I knew.
We were shown to our tables, which my other half couldn’t stop laughing as they weren’t practical for eating really as your elbows just bag on the partitioning next to us.

The main menu is quite pricey, if your just out for a normal meal so we opted for their Early Evening Meal – 2 courses for £12.95 which is pretty good! However, after the woman took our drinks order we had to wait 15 minutes for them, and the the woman still didn’t take our order. I get rather grouchy when I’m hungry and did sit there being very disgruntled until she came back. 20 minutes after we had sat down.

I ordered Cheese & Bacon Potato Skins to start & Chicken Skewers with Chips for my main. My other half opted for Spicy Calamari for starter & Cheeseburger for his main. Thankfully – before I started eating my napkin, our starters came out very quickly. Despite being slightly disappointed at the fact I only had 2 – I am a hungry girl! The skins were lovely, they weren’t burnt or dry which you can get in other restaurants. I tried a bit of my boyfriends Calamari – it was nice, not too spicy but I would 100% recommend the Skins over them though.

The mains came quite quickly after that and I was really pleased I picked Chicken Skewers, they were loooooooovely! The chicken was not dry, and they hadn’t gone over-board on the Cajun spices on the skewers. It came with Cajun Mayonnaise which was really good, so good my boyfriend stole most of it! His burger was really nice, thought I didn’t try it due to all the Tabasco sauce he put on it. The chips were good, thin and crispy.

We weren’t too full up, so we decided to look at the desserts but nothing really tickled out fancy. They don’t give you desert as an option on the Early Evening Menu either so it’s about a £5 per pudding, and they were quite small from what we could see on a table next to us. So we asked for the bill – our hostess brought it over with a happy squeal of ‘JELLY BEANS’ & placed a pot down in front of us filled with jelly beans & the bill. It was reasonable £28 for 2 courses each & 1 coke 1 water. The Pepsi was a nice large glass, they don’t offer unlimited refills like most their competitors but its such a big glass I didn’t run out till I had finished my meal.

Overall conclusion;
Despite a slow start, not ideal when hungry, the food was lovely and good value. I would like to go back and try the main menu and maybe a cocktail. It’s a good place to go with friends and the other half, but not for a romantic meal in my opinion. There is a sports bar feel to it slightly and it wouldn’t be somewhere I would personally chose as a special occasion food choice. The presentation was good on the food & the portions kept you full. Dessert menu looked a little lackluster but maybe next time I would have to try one to have a proper opinion.

Next review – Jimmys. All you can eat buffet just opening in the Marina – too excited!

Leave a comment